Nicknames of all 24 teams (AFCON 2019)


With the tournament expanded to 24 teams for the first time this year, we have even more nicknames to learn.

2019 Africa Cup of Nations: Team nicknames

Read: GFA forces to remove “bad” pictures from social media
Egypt – The Pharaohs
Madagascar – Barea
Tunisia – Eagles of Carthage
Senegal – The Lions of Teranga
Morocco – Atlas Lions
Mauritania – Lions of Chinguetti
Burundi – The Chayfs (The Swallows)
Read: 2019 AFCON Draw, fixtures and Groups
Algeria – The Desert Foxes.
Guinea – National Elephants
Uganda – The Cranes
Mali – The Eagles
Nigeria – The Super Eagles
Ivory Coast – The Elephants

Kenya – Harambee Stars
Angola – Giant Sable Antelopes (or just Sable Antelopes)
Cameroon – The Indomitable Lions
Ghana – The Black Stars
Read: Egypt AFCON 2019 confirmed stadiums
Guinea-Bissau – Djurtus
Namibia – Brave Warriors
Zimbabwe – The Warriors

DR Congo – The Leopards
Benin –  The Squirrels
Tanzania – Taifa Stars/Kilimanjaro Stars
South Africa – Bafana Bafana
Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here